Day: September 15, 2017

Chinese Tombstone in Black and White 

“Chinese Tombstone in Black and White”.

Copyright 2017 Nawfal Johnson 

All Rights Reserved.

I was photographing in the rain at a Chinese cemetery in Penang.  I walked there.  It was a long walk, but it was raining and cool…and really wet.  I found a general caretaker doing some chores and I did my best to communicate with him.  I started with speaking a little in Malay, and he didn’t seem to understand me.  I know my Malay is bad, but not horrible, so I figured he didn’t know how to speak Malay!  Imagine that:  a Chinese who has lived in Penang, for like ever (probably), and doesn’t know how to speak Bahasa Malaysia.  Some Penang Chinese only know how to speak Hokkian or Mandarin.  Eventually, I realized he knew a little English.  So, we did our best to communicate in English, and I got my verbal “Okey-Dokey” to take some pictures in the junglized and wet, Chinese cemetery.  

Here is a Black and White photo of a tombstone surrounded by tall weeds and jungle “stuff”.  

RED IN THE RAIN

“Red in the Rain”

Copyright 2017 Nawfal Johnson 

All Rights Reserved.

Red Umbrella and Red Stool in the rain with a Yellow Leaf.  Me too, in the rain, creating this photograph. 🙂  When it rains most photographers put their camera gear away…I say, I gotta get out there and photograph stuff.  Just need to take a dry towel to wipe gear off occasionally.

Cemetery Tree in the Rain

“Cemetery Tree in the Rain”.

Copyright 2017 Nawfal Johnson 

All Rights Reserved.

Monsoon like rain here in Penang.  I like photographing in the rain, but, everything gets a bit wet…consequences of it all.  From 5pm yesterday to 11:30am this morning we had almost 10 inches rain.  And, it’s still raining.  For this shot I crawled into thick weeds in a Chinese cemetery near Fettes Park, just to get to the right location.  What I do to get a shot…